The composer writes three pieces for orchestra: Monophony (1979-80), Lontano (1979-80) and Ostinato (1979-80). None of them will ever be premiered or published.

Letter to the Ministry of Culture and Art

4 September

Sikorski is fined 3000 zlotys by a magistrates’ court, with the fine being made public, because, as we can read in a letter sent to the Polish Composers’ Union,

On 11 August 1980, at about 0:20 am in ul. Piękna, Warsaw, in front of the ‘Habana’ restaurant, being under the influence of alcohol, he used vulgar words in public, committing an offence against public order.

Police court rulingPolice court ruling

23 September

Strings in the Earth is premiered at the Warsaw Autumn Festival by the Polish Chamber Orchestra conducted by Jerzy Maksymiuk, to whom the composer dedicated his work.



10 March

Stephen Montague premieres Autograph during a concert in St. Petersburg, Florida.


20 July

The composer applies for an extension of his scholarship to write Two Portraits for orchestra.

Letter to the Ministry of Culture and Art

19 September

Tomasz Sikorski performs in public for the last time during the premiere of Hymnos at the Warsaw Autumn Festival.


Tomasz Sikorski’s works are performed at the ISCM Festival in Brussels.


14 December

The day following the introduction of martial law Szábolcs Esztényi meets Tomasz Sikorski shouting at passers-by and policemen by the Sigismund Column in Warsaw.



Sikorski arranges Modus for cello solo.


In Szczecin the Polish Chamber Orchestra conducted by Jerzy Maksymiuk premieres Winter Landscape for strings (Teodor Szczepański in memoriam) .


16 July

Probably because of the composer’s precarious financial situation, Józef Patkowski, President of the Polish Composers’ Union, writes a letter to Ministry of Culture and Art, asking it to buy three works by Tomasz Sikorski: Modus for trombone, Autograph for piano and Winter Landscape for string orchestra.

Józef Patkowski's letter to the Ministry of Culture and Art

10 September

Strings in the Earth is performed in West Berlin by the Polish Chamber Orchestra conducted by Jerzy Maksymiuk.



19 September

Modus in the solo cello version is performed for the first time at the Warsaw Autumn by Ivan Monighetti.



17 October

Tomasz Sikorski tries to persuade the Polish Composers’ Union to send him to Hungary. It proves impossible owing to the fact that there are no more places on the exchange programme with the Hungarian Composers’ Union.

Polish Composers' Union replyLetter to the PCU (1984)



20 September

Tomasz Sikorski again tries to obtain a place on the exchange programme and go to Budapest. His request is denied.

Polish Composers' Union replyLetter to the PCU (1985)

21 September

The Polish audience has the first opportunity to hear La notte. The piece is performed during the Warsaw Autumn Festival by the Polish Chamber Orchestra conducted by Jerzy Maksymiuk.

Tomasz Sikorski and Jerzy Maksymiuk



14 January

The Polish Composers’ Union intervenes in connection with Tomasz Sikorski’s poor living conditions:

The cold and humidity in his flat make his work impossible; they are also damaging to his piano, which is the composer’s main instrument.

PCU's letter to the Housing Management Company

10 March

During a recital in Alicante (Spain) Ewa Osińska premieres Euphony for piano.


22 April

Tomasz Sikorski again asks the Polish Composers’ Union to be allowed to go an exchange to Hungary.


22 July

Death of the composer’s father – Kazimierz Sikorski. The distinguished teacher is buried in the Avenue of the Meritorious in the Powązki Cemetery.


23 September

Sikorski’s Euphony is performed in Poland for the first time. The piece is interpreted by Szábolcs Esztényi during a concert at the Warsaw Autumn.



22 September

Premiere of The Silence of the Sirens for cello solo. Ivan Monighetti presents it during a Warsaw Autumn concert.



Tomasz Sikorski works with Barbara Okoń-Makowska at the Polish Radio on Diario 87 for tape and reciter to words by Jorge Luis Borges. After the piece is completed, in a moment of the sound engineer’s inattention he erases the musical layer from the tape, making it impossible to present the piece with an actor reading the text live.



15 January

Wanda Warska and Andrzej Kurylewicz’s cellar in Warsaw is the venue of a concert of Rafał Augustyn’ and Tomasz Sikorski’ music. It is an event in the ‘Composers’ portraits’ series organised by the Board of the Polish Composers’ Union. The programme features several works by Sikorski: Modus  (Danuta Stradomska – cello), Autograph, Sonant, Absent-Minded Window-Gazing (Szábolcs Esztényi – piano), Monodia e Sequenza (Hanna Turonek – flute, Krystian Grzenkowicz – piano), Solitude of Sounds (Barbara Okoń-Makowska – sound engineer).


16-20 February

The 16th Contemporary Polish Music Festival takes place in Wrocław (it is renamed Musica Polonica Nova as of that year). Its most important events include a ‘Potrait of Tomasz Sikorski’ concert held in the local National Museum. Its programme features ProloguesSolitude of Sounds in a version with Samuel Beckett’s ‘Afar a bird’, The Silence of the Sirens, Modus, Autograph and Absent-Minded Window-Gazing.


16 September

The last premiere of a work by Tomasz Sikorski at the Warsaw Autumn. Omaggio per Quattro Pianoforti ed Orchestra in Memoriam Jorge Luis Borges  is performed by Andrzej Dutkiewicz, Szábolcs Esztényi, Eugeniusz Knapik and Krzysztof Meyer – pianos, and the Silesian Philharmonic Orchestra. The performance is conducted by Karol Stryja.


13 November

The composer’s ex-wife, Natalia Sikorska, finds Tomasz Sikorski dead in his flat in Pl. Konstytucji. At the moment of the tragic discovery the composer has been dead for several days.


22 November

Tomasz Sikorski is buried in his mother’s grave in the Stare Powązki cemetery.


The composer’s flat is cleared by the building manager and most of Sikorski’s personal belongings are lost in unexplained circumstances.



18 September

A concert at the Warsaw Autumn Festival is dedicated to Tomasz Sikorski. Its programme features the following works: Absent-Minded Window-Gazing, Homophony, Diaphony, Other Voices, Listening Music, Hymnos and Concerto Breve, performed by the pianists Szábolcs Esztényi and Eugeniusz Knapik as well as the Warsaw Radio Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Marek Nowakowski.